Seven Sephardic Love Songs, Braun

Seven Sephardic Love Songs, Braun


Composed By: Yehezkel Braun

Arranged By: Joshua Jacobson

sample PDF

Purchase sheet music at Transcontinental

Voicing: SATB, SSA and TB

Keyword Love, Ladino

Language: Ladino

Difficulty: moderate

Country: Israel, Spain

Solos: soprano

Instruments: piano

Lyrics: Exodus 20

Publisher: Transcontinental

Year Composed/Published: 1981

Timing: 17:00

Tempo: various

First Line: Arvolera

description: In 1981 Israeli composer Yehezkel Braun composed “Seven Sephardic Romances,” a song cycle for soprano and piano. This work was based on love songs from the ancient traditions of Jews who lived in Spain prior to the sixteenth century. The Ladino language is a jargon combining elements of Castilian Spanish and Hebrew, with the former predominating. In 1990 Joshua Jacobson arranged the entire cycle for mixed chorus. Each number could be performed separately, or the conductor could create his/her own suite. The seven songs are Don Amadi, Esta Rakhel, Nani Nani, Durme, Por que Llorax, Di me Rozina, Morenica.

Add To Cart